“……like a girl”

Yes, I play, run, hit, fight, and walk like a girl because I AM a girl!

But why is “like a girl” supposed to be an insult? The amount of times I heard that growing up is unbelievable. Likewise, the effect it had on my performance is too. I felt self-conscious I was going to look too girly while playing sports, that a hint of my femininity was going to come out. I tried to imitate the boys to feel good enough about my capacities.

During the 2015 Super Bowl, the brand Always came out with a commercial addressing this common issue. It’s definitely worth the watch →

Yours truly,

L.D

Leave a Reply

